Day 1 of Plant Based Living…

So, yesterday, I embarked on a 22 day journey of plant based eating/living.  I did a ton of research on how I would sustain my body and try to put it back on track to good health.  You see, my desire to be an herbivore is not motivated by a political agenda, a tree hugging agenda, an earth-friendly agenda, or animal rights agenda.  My desire to be an herbivore is 100% self-centered.  I desire good health.  I desire a body that is not riddled with pain that wakes me from my very limited sleep pattern.  I desire a soul that isn’t weakened by chronic pain at every waking moment.  I desire a life that is full and rich and active.

I started yesterday morning with vanilla Chia pudding and a cup of fresh fruit.  The texture of the chia seeds is something that has to be cultivated unless, of course, you happen to like a mouth filled with gelatinous gooey seedy things.  The flavor, however, quickly takes the gustatory sensation of sucking on a slug wearing spikes away and soothes the senses with a gentle mild vanilla bean and the tart berries of early summer.  I liked it very much.  More than that, I loved the idea that I wasn’t hungry until well after the usual noon lunch hour.

FullSizeRender

Vanilla Chia Pudding with Fresh Berries

My husband and I ran some errands, picked up the weed barriers for our veggie garden, picked up the plants at our local farm, and came home in time for me to enjoy a beautiful lunch of a Hemp Seed Red Cabbage salad.  It sounds completely up my alley, but the hemp seeds are not the same as the seeds I once farmed from a small sandwich sized baggie in my youth.  They added a nutty flavor to the salad and a fairly good amount of nutrients.  I loved the salad almost as much as I love my Fiestaware.  I wondered, though…would this little bit of food sustain me through hand tilling the ground, pulled weeds, laying weed barrier and planting?  Would I faint from hunger?  Would I succumb to the negative self-talk that seemed to permeate my being when I challenge myself?  Will my self-saboteur show up with a snicker bar behind her back and temp me away from my path?  The answer to all of the above is NO!

IMG_7319

Red Cabbage/Granny Smith Salad with Tahini dressing

And, our work on the veggie garden was sustained by these nutritious goodies.  We planted tomatoes, two kinds of Kale, egg plant, peppers, potatoes, cabbage, basil, rosemary, parsley, squash, and I am quite sure I am leaving something out.  Nevertheless, we will have a bountiful harvest by summer’s end.

IMG_7328

Weed Barrier Down! Plants in!

Afterward, I was feeling a bit hungry so I looked up my allotted snack for the day.  This turned out to be my favorite part of the culinary menu.  Hemp Seed Hummus and fresh veggies.  It was an interesting flavor and again, the texture was unfamiliar, yet it was very tasty and likely a recipe that I will turn to again and again during family and friends gathering.  This will ensure that I stick to my goal and that my journey remain scenic.

IMG_7321

Hemp Seed Hummus

IMG_7322 - Copy

My body balked at the physical pain that I was in; swelling came on full force, my back screamed, and my elbow refused to straighten out.  I found myself in the midst of a rather nasty bout of flaring up Fibromyalgia.  UGH!  This dis-ease with which I live has become an all too familiar bad roommate, who hasn’t paid rent in months, eats all of your food, and lies on the couch all day hogging the television during Dr. Phil! I have served my eviction notice to FMS, and I expect it to be gone at the end of 22 days!  So, I rested, I had a hot shower, I pepped myself up for preparing dinner and then I did just that!  For dinner, we enjoyed a nice black bean quinoa salad.

IMG_7330

Black Bean Quinoa Salad

Quinoa, yet another interesting texture; not quite as slimy as chia, but a weird, unfamiliar texture which I can only liken to a sesame seed flavored jello.  It was not at all unpleasant and, lest the reasonable reader believe me to be texture challenged, I have to admit I love raw oysters, clams, and even sushi and sashimi – therefore, it is simply that I am unfamiliar with these textures – I am certain I will grow to like them well enough, but for now, they remain in my culinary “friend zone” and not in my inner circle or love zone.

Happily, I ended my first day as a plant based eater with great success.  I took my B-12, drank my allotted water, and went off to bed knowing that I succeeded in taking my first steps in becoming a healthier more whole human being, devoid of constant pain.  Here’s to me!

 

2 thoughts on “Day 1 of Plant Based Living…

  1. Good job getting started, just stay positive and remember it won’t likely fix right away eh? I’m not a fan of quinoa but it’s not a complete turn off either. A coworker of mine loves it, she gets a lot of recipes from Pinterest for it.

    • I’m such a Pinterest whore! Lol I’ve been getting plant based recipes off of their for day 45…and on! Thanks for the vote of confidence! Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

